A jump starter is a battery pack you keep in the car so you can restart it when its own battery is flat, without another vehicle. The AstroAI P8 is a compact lithium model, and Amazon UK’s listing says it can start engines of up to 10 litres petrol and 8 litres diesel.
If you buy through our links we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We have not tested this jump starter. This article sets out what the listing says, which key numbers it leaves out, and what we would check first.
What the listing says
The listing, which we read on 27 October 2026, gives these details. They are the seller’s claims, and we have not measured any of them.

| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Engines | Up to 10 litres petrol and 8 litres diesel. It names cars, SUVs, motorbikes, lawnmowers, tractors and motorboats |
| Size | 183 × 88 × 39 mm |
| Battery | Lithium (NMC), 12 V |
| Power bank | A USB-A port with 5V/3A, 9V/2A and 12V/1.5A (QC 3.0) outputs |
| Light | An LED torch with three modes: light, SOS and strobe |
| Protections | Ten: reverse polarity, overcurrent, overcharge, over-discharge, high and low temperature, reverse connection, overvoltage, overload, short circuit and spark-proof clamps |
| In the box | The jump starter, jumper leads, a USB cable, a storage bag, a manual, a warranty card and a gift box |
What the listing leaves out
The part of the listing we read does not give the battery capacity, the peak current, the length of the jumper leads, the recharge time, the temperature range or the length of the warranty. Those matter more than the engine rating.
AstroAI’s own guide says diesel engines need up to twice the peak current of a petrol engine of the same size, and that you should compare peak current rather than battery capacity. That is the maker’s advice, not an independent test.
We did not find the P8 on AstroAI’s UK shop. The shop lists a different model, the S8 Ultra, with the same 10 and 8 litre rating, but we will not assume the two are the same product, so we do not borrow its figures.
What to check before buying
- Your engine. Find its size and fuel in the handbook. Sellers rate engine sizes differently, so leave some margin, especially for diesel.
- The peak current. The listing does not state it. Ask the seller or look in the manual.
- The leads. Their length is not stated. Check that they reach your battery from where you can park the pack.
- Cold weather. A cold battery gives less power, and the listing gives no temperature range. Look for one in the manual.
- Storage. Makers of lithium packs commonly warn against leaving them in a hot car or in direct sunlight. We did not read the P8 manual, so check what it says, and stop using the pack if it is swollen or damaged.
- Charge. A jump starter only helps if it is charged when you need it. The listing does not say how long a recharge takes.
- The warranty. The box includes a warranty card, but the length is not in the text we read.
Should you buy it?
Our reading: on paper it is a compact all-rounder, with a power-bank port and a torch as extras. But the numbers that decide whether it will start your engine, the peak current and the capacity, are missing from what we read. Before you rely on it for a diesel or a large petrol engine, get those figures. You can see the price and customer reviews on Amazon UK (affiliate link), where the price changes.

For other buying guides in this section, see the AstroAI S1 tyre inflator and the Oppo Find X10 and what to know before you buy.
What we could not confirm
We did not test the jump starter, read the user manual or find an independent test of the P8. We did not find the model on AstroAI’s UK shop, and we found no fire-service guidance on keeping lithium packs in a car. We do not quote the listing’s price, ratings or sales ranking: they change, and Amazon does not allow us to reproduce its customer reviews and ratings.





Leave a Reply